How to help 126

  • Post author:
  • Post category:News

We would like to bring you up to date on 126 Artist-run gallery in Galway. Some of you will already have heard that we are facing the prospect of closure because of a drastic and sudden 64% cut of local funding. 126 is extremely important to many artists, curators, critics and administrators who have cut their teeth through this artist-led organisation. We need your help now to make some noise and lobby Galway City Council to review this decision as soon as possible.

This funding cut has been sudden, and is not in line with other cuts to other arts organisations made by the council, and the board of 126 feels that there is a lack of understanding in regards to the cultural importance of 126.

We would like you to write a letter of support for 126 to Galway City Council. The people to contact in Galway City Council that decide on our funding are Patricia Philbin ( <>), and her boss Thomas Connell (Director of Services, Economic Planning, HR, Corporate Services and Community & Culture ).

The addresses for all city councillors and local TD’s are below. Information that can be used to draft letters can be found in previous posts.

We hope to see you at our fundraiser, RENT EVENT, in De Burgo’s this Friday 7th December
126 membership runs from November of each year. You can drop into the gallery to renew your membership or download the membership form and use paypal on our website

We appreciate your support.

Many thanks

126 Board


Local Galway City Councillors

Tom Costello
Michael J Crowe
Frank Fahey
Nuala Nolan
Declan McDonnell
Mayor Terry O Flaherty
Billy Cameron
Colette Connolly
Ollie Crowe
Catherine Connolly
Peter Keane
Donal Lyons
Níal McNelis
Hildegarde Naughton


National Representatives: TD’s

Noel Grealish TD (Ind)
Séan Kyne TD (FG)
Derek Nolan TD (LAB)
Brian Walsh TD (FG)
Éamon Ó Cuív TD (FF)

President Higgins