Imminent Change to 126 Gallery Name

Imminent Change to 126 Gallery Name

  • Post author:
  • Post category:News

126_logo 2


Currently: “126 Artist-Run Gallery”
Amendment: “126 Artist-Run Gallery © Kerry Guinan”
Effective as of: Monday 8th September 2014.


To our members and supporters,

126 are excited to announce that its official name, currently “126 Artist-Run Gallery” is changing to “126 Artist-Run Gallery © Kerry Guinan”, effective this coming Monday, the 8th of September 2014.

In the wake of recent funding cuts to the visual arts in Ireland, Kerry has generously offered support to 126 in the form of monetary sponsorship. Under this sponsorship agreement she has purchased the intellectual property of 126, which includes names, logos, trademarks, and the copyright to the aforementioned. As such, all future realisations of 126’s brand identity will now include the caption “© Kerry Guinan”.

The funding acquired by the gallery in this unique exchange will enable us to contribute towards bills and rental costs, install new signage at our location, and produce new merchandise.


“We are a not-for-profit organisation run voluntarily for almost 10 years. Recent cuts to our funding have meant we had to cancel several exhibitions and programmed events this year. Thanks to Kerry’s sponsorship and our members support we will manage to keep our doors open for now. However the slow strangulation of small visual art organisations around the country is of growing concern. Our situation is indicative of a broader national problem.”
– Shelly McDonnell
Chairperson, 126 Board of Directors


“Valuable artist-run venues such as 126 have faced tremendous difficulties in recent years. I am
delighted to offer them my support and am looking forward to our new working partnership”
– Kerry Guinan


126 © Kerry Guinan appreciate your patience while due changes are made to our facebook, website, merchandise and display.


This name change is the result of a month-long gallery residency by the artist Kerry Guinan. The residency was awarded by Paul McAree, curator of
Restless: the 7th Annual 126 Members’ Show.

For more information please visit: